2011 Rostelecom Cup – Viewer’s Guide

24 Nov

Useful Links

icenetwork.com (LIVE stream of the Rostelecom Cup)

Starting Order/Results Page  Twitter

TV Schedule/Competition Notes (PDF)  Photo Gallery
2011 Rostelecom Cup

Friday, Nov. 25
6:00 a.m.: Ladies short program
7:35 a.m.: Pairs short program
9:45 a.m.: Men’s short program
11:20 a.m.: Short dance

Saturday, Nov. 26
5:00 a.m.: Ladies free skate
6:45 a.m.: Pairs free skate
8:25 a.m.: Men’s free skate
10:25 a.m.: Free dance

From Russia With LoveRachael Flatt competes at Rostelecom Cup for first time since winning silver in 2008. She began the season at Skate Canada.

Senior YearChristina Gao continues her first international senior season in Moscow. She opened the year with a fi fth-place showing at Cup of China.

Step UpAgnes Zawadaki looks to make a step up onto the podium this year in Russia. She finished fourth at this event a season ago. Zawadzki began the 2011-12 campaign at NHK Trophy two weeks ago.

Go for the GoldJeremy Abbott looks for his second gold of the season after winning Cup of China in early November. Abbott is the reigning Rostelecom Cup bronze medalist and competes here for the third time (4th in 2008). A medal of any color will allow Abbott to qualify for the 2011 ISU Grand Prix of Figure Skating Final in December, an event he won in 2008.

Back in ActionBrandon Mroz started the season at NHK Trophy a few weeks ago where he landed the first ever quad Lutz in an ISU competition during the short program. He competes in Russia for the first time since placing seventh at this event in 2009.

First TimersAshley Cain & Joshua Reagan make their Grand Prix Series Debut in Moscow. The 2011 U.S. junior champions started the season by finishing fourth at 2011 Cup of Nice. They have not competed in Russia before.

StreakingMeryl Davis & Charlie White look to make it eight straight gold medals with a win in Moscow. Dating back to the beginning of the 2010 Grand Prix season, the duo has won seven straight competitons. They are the reigning Grand Prix Final champions and a medal here will earn them a fourth trip to the Final.

Last WeekAlissa Czisny qualified for the Grand Prix Final thanks to a third-place finish. Czisny is the reigning Grand Prix champion. Adam Rippon and Amanda Evora & Mark Ladwig finished fourth while Madison Chock & Evan Bates placed fifth.

About these ads

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 321 other followers

%d bloggers like this: